|

Atom under Ubuntu 20.04

I am a loyal soul. But my patience is limited: On Ubuntu 20.04, the tips from Eclipse are displayed in black on black. Hmm. Markdown editors are cumbersome. Oops. And the ‘spell-check’ for German-English texts still doesn’t work. Grrr. So, it is time to conquer new frontiers: everyone is already talking about ‘Atom‘. Let us give it a try even if – on Ubuntu 04/20 – we have to circumnavigate some cliffs.

First, let’s specify what Atom has to offer in order to please us:

  • Spell checker for German-English texts …
  • with simultaneous syntax highlighting …
  • and code completion for Latex, Markdown, HTML PHP, C / C ++, Java, bash.
  • Seamless integration into a mobile laptop work environment.
  • Good markdown support.

Then let’s install and configure this editor:

The standard Ubuntu method doesn’t work straight ahead!

At least since version 20.04, the new snap package format becomes a standard that you can hardly avoid. Many programs – including ‘Atom’ – are no longer offered as Debian packages but have to be installed via the Ubuntu software center as snap packages. Sometimes, that works – but sometimes it doesn’t:

My first installation ran into a trap: After a few days, it was no longer listed. Neither snap list atom nor snap list --all mentioned ‘Atom’ although I could still call the editor. Thus, the package was cut off from all automatic updates. My solution was ‘simple’: I successfully reinstalled ‘Atom’ via the Ubuntu Software Center. Then, the editor could be found again, could be removed without leaving any residue using snap remove atom (and could be reinstalled)

But – as described on the internet – the version offered by the Ubuntu Software Center behaved ugly: with every call it unavoidably opened two completely useless documents. So I had to rule out this variant: If I wanted to be further annoyed, I could have stayed with Eclipse.

The .deb detour also fails.

The official Atom documentation describes two ways to install ‘Atom‘. The easier way is to download the .deb package and install it with sudo dpkg -i atom-amd64.deb. Unfortunately, that method fails because of unresolved dependencies.

But at least a complex methods works …

According to the second method, described by the Atom documentation, you have to download the key, to expand the apt sources and to update the system before you can install the package:

1. wget -qO - https://packagecloud.io/AtomEditor/atom/gpgkey | sudo apt-key add -
2. sudo sh -c 'echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://packagecloud.io/AtomEditor/atom/any/ any main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/atom.list'
3. sudo apt-get update
4. sudo apt-get install atom

By this method you successfully get an editor integrated into the Ubuntu GNOME 3 desktop.

… which still requires some additional packages …

Atom can officially be expanded by packages. The respective interface can be accessed via Edit / Preferences / Install (Linux) or via File / Settings / Install (Windows): In the upper text field one inserts the name of the desired package. Then, the system searches for the appropriate ‘index card’, which offers an install-button.

But occasionally, the integrated search does not work. Every call ends with the error i.filter is not a function [object Object]. This error is not evoked by Ubuntu, but – as the community assumes – by the Atom server.

In such cases, you reach your goal in a roundabout way: you search for the respective package via Google. Mostly, you will be offered a hit pointing to https://atom.io/packages/. The readme-file of the respective package often also describes how you can install it manually. Usually, you only have to type inapm install $packagename at your console. This command installs the package under .atom/packages.

By this method we can get the extra packages we need:

  • First, we want to use ‘Atom’ as a LaTeX editor. To do this, we have to teach it the LaTeX syntax: apm install language-latex
  • Second, we may want to use ‘Atom’ as a LaTeX IDE, so we have to make the LaTeX build commands accessible to it apm install latex
  • Additionally, ‘Atom’ should check our spelling, in German and English texts. We will configure the multilingualism later. But then, ‘Atom’ shall not show us every LaTeX command as an error. But simultaneously, it’s supposed to verify our (LaTeX) code. Hence, we have to teach him that language via linter and its respective sub-modules: apm install linter linter-spell linter-ui-default linter-spell-latex. For the other languages, there is a corresponding command, e.g. apt install linter-
  • After all, we also want to use ‘Atom’ while we are working on a sunny terrace. The dark mode makes this extremely difficult. Fortunately, there is a package with which you can quickly switch between light and dark: apm install dark-mode. As usual, you find the respective toggle command under Packages/dark mode.
  • Fortunately, we hardly need to do anything for our Markdown activities: Syntax highlighting runs out-of-the-box. And by using the entry Packages/Markdown Preview we can directly view the HTML equivalent. But to convert a file into the PDF format without switching to the shell, we still need a package: apm install markdown-pdf. After having restarted Atom, we can configure the package under File/Settings/Packages#markdown-pdf and can call the conversion by Packages/Markdown To PDF.

… and some adjustments to the configuration:

‘Atom’ can be configured in two ways: By calling Edit/Preferences (Linux) or File/Settings/ (Windows) you open the configuration dialogues. In the sections #Core and #Editor you find the general properties you can set. But under Edit/Preferences/#Packages (Linux) or File/Settings/#Packages (Windows) you get access to the installed packages and their specific configuration options.

We need both methods:

  • First, our ‘Atom’ should apply a soft line wrap, i.e. automatically wrap long text lines without inserting LFs (Linux) or CRs/LFs (Windows) into the text line itself. To activate such a behavior, we set a respective hook under …/Preferences#Editor.
  • Additionally, we also specify that the virtual break should not be at the edge of the window, but at the maximum line width by activating Soft Wrap At Preferred Line Length.
  • Furthermore, our ‘atom’ should be able to check the spelling in mixed-language texts. For activating such a capacity, we have to configure the package…/Preferences/Package/spell-check accordingly:
    • We activate Use Locales with a tick.
    • We insert en-US, de_DE in the field Locales.

So, we got what we wanted to get:

‘Atom’ specifies itself as a hackable text editor. The network knows its best extensions. Be inspired by such reviews. The methods to install them are those with which we achieved our goals:

FeatureStatus
1.)Spell checking for multilingual texts
2.)Context-sensitive spell checking for programming languages
3.)Syntax highlighting for Latex, HTML PHP, C/C++, Java, bash
4.)Code completion for Latex, HTML PHP, C/C++, Java, bash
5.)Integration in a mobile system even for sunny working places
6.)Markdown support

A last confession

Completely replacing Eclipse is impossible and unnecessary. Because no other system supports the development of domain-specific languages in a better way. It’s a blessing to have XText and XTend.

2 annotations for “Atom under Ubuntu 20.04”

  1. Peter Mueller says:

    Any idea of how to get babel-commands-dependent spellchecking? That is, the German document

    Das ist ein langer Satz (engl. \foreignlanguage{USenglish}{sentence}).

    should invoke no spellchecker warnings, whereas

    Das ist ein langer sentence (engl. \foreignlanguage{USenglish}{Satz}).

    should invoke two spellchecker warnings.

  2. Karsten Reincke says:

    Ok. I see, what you want to get: a context sensitive fault message in between a sentence. Does ‘Babel’ offer such a feature in general? I have not used ‘Babel’ actively. So, unfortunately, I can’t help you.

    And my solution is indeed much weaker than that you want to get:

    A) ‘Das ist ein langer Satz (engl. sentence)’ only marks the abbreviation ‘engl.’

    B) And in ‘Das ist ein langer sentence …’ my solution does not see that
    a)’sentence’ normally is not a word in a German sentence as well as
    b) it does not see that ‘Satz’ isn’t an English word.

    So, if you find a way, to get what your need, please let us know your solution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

75 − = 67

Diese Site verwendet Cookies. (Details)

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

|

Atom unter Ubuntu 20.04

Eigentlich bin ich eine treue Seele. Aber auch meine Geduld ist begrenzt: Die Tipps von Eclipse werden unter Ubuntu 20.04 schwarz auf schwarz angezeigt. Hmm. Markdown-Editoren sind umstĂ€ndlich. Oopps. Und der ‚Spellcheck‘ fĂŒr deutsch-englische Texte geht immer noch nicht. Grrr. Also auf zu neuen Ufern: es reden ja eh alle schon von ‘Atom’. Geben wir ihm eine Chance, selbst wenn wir – unter Ubuntu 20.04 – dafĂŒr einige Klippen umschiffen mĂŒssen.

Legen wir zuerst genauer fest, was Atom bieten muss, um (uns) zu gefallen:

  • RechtschreibprĂŒfung fĂŒr deutsch-englische Texte
  • bei gleichzeitigem Syntax-Highlighting
  • und Code-Completion fĂŒr Latex, Markdown, HTML PHP, C/C++, Java, bash
  • Nahtlose Integration in eine mobile Laptop-Arbeitsumgebung
  • Gute Markdown-UnterstĂŒtzung.

Und machen wir uns dann daran, den Editor zu installieren und zu konfigurieren:

Die Standard-Ubuntu-Methode: Geradeaus klappt’s nicht!

Mit der Version 20.04 wird das neue Snap-Paketformat zum kaum zu umgehenden Standardformat. Viele Programme – darunter ‚Atom‘ – werden schon gar nicht mehr as Debian-Pakete angeboten sondern mĂŒssen via Ubuntu-Software-Center als Snap-Pakete installiert werden. Das klappt auf den ersten Blick – und ’scheitert‘ beim nĂ€chsten Hinsehen:

  • So wurde meine erste Installation nach einigen Tagen nicht mehr im Bestand gefĂŒhrt: weder snap list atom noch snap list --all listete ‚Atom‘ noch auf, obwohl ich den Editor doch immer noch aufrufen konnte. Systemisch war das Paket damit auch von allen Updates abgeschnitten. Die Lösung war ’simple‘: ‚Atom‘ einfach noch einmal per Ubuntu-Software-Center installieren. Danach lies sich der Editor auch wieder finden und rĂŒckstandslos per snap remove atom entfernen (und wieder installieren)
  • Nur reagierte die Version – wie im Netz beschrieben – immer noch unschön: sie öffnete – unverhinderbar – bei jedem Aufruf zwei völlig nutzlose Dokumente.

Damit schied diese Variante aus: Wenn ich mich weiter nerven lassen wollte, hÀtte ich auch bei Eclipse bleiben können.

Auch der .deb-Umweg scheitert.

Die offizielle Atom-Dokumentation beschreibt zwei Wege zur Installation von Atom. Beim einfacheren Weg lÀdt man sich das .deb-Paket herunter und installiert es mit sudo dpkg -i atom-amd64.deb. Leider scheitert das unaufgelöster AbhÀngigkeiten wegen.

Aber wenigstens komplexe Weg fĂŒhrt weiter 


Dabei lĂ€dt man zuerst den SchlĂŒssel runter, erweitert die apt sources, macht ein update und installiert das Paket:

1. wget -qO - https://packagecloud.io/AtomEditor/atom/gpgkey | sudo apt-key add -
2. sudo sh -c 'echo "deb [arch=amd64] https://packagecloud.io/AtomEditor/atom/any/ any main" > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/atom.list'
3. sudo apt-get update
4. sudo apt-get install atom

Und tatsÀchlich erhÀlt man ein in den Ubuntu GNOME 3 Desktop integrierten Editor.


 bedarf aber noch zusÀtzlicher Pakete 


Offiziell lĂ€sst sich Atom ĂŒber ein integriertes Interface erweitern, das frau per Edit/Preferences/Install (Linux) bzw. File/Settings/Install (Windows) erreicht: Über das obere Textfeld lĂ€sst man das gewĂŒnschte Package suchen, ĂŒber die dann erscheinende ‚Karteikarte‘ installieren.

Gelegentlich funktioniert die integrierte Suche nicht. Jeder Aufruf endet im Fehler i.filter is not a function [object Object], was nicht Ubuntu geschuldet ist, sondern dem Atom Server. In solchen FĂ€llen kommt frau auf Umwegen zum Ziel: Sie sucht per Google nach dem Paket und wird (meist) auf einen Treffer unter https://atom.io/packages/ geleitet. Dort findet sich jeweils auch eine Hinweis zur manuellen Installation. In der Regel braucht man auf der Konsole nur apm install $packagename einzugeben. Das Paket wird dann unter .atom/packages installiert und bei jedem Neustart geladen.

Damit können wir uns die zusÀtzlichen Pakete holen, die wir brauchen:

  • Zum ersten wollen wir ‚Atom‘ als LaTeX-Editor verwenden. DafĂŒr mĂŒssen wir ihm die LaTeX-Syntax beibringen: apm install language-latex
  • Dann wollen wir ‚Atom‘ u.U. auch als LaTeX-IDE verwenden, also mĂŒssen wir ihm die LaTeX-Build-Kommandos zugĂ€nglich machen: apm install latex
  • Außerdem soll ‚Atom‘ unsere Rechtschreibung ĂŒberprĂŒfen, und zwar in deutschen und englischen Texten. Die Mehrsprachigkeit werden wir spĂ€ter konfigurativ aktivieren. ‚Atom‘ darf uns aber nicht jeden LaTeX-Befehl als Fehler ankreiden. Und es soll unseren Code ĂŒberprĂŒfen. Das mĂŒssen wir ihm per Linter und Submodule beibringen apm install linter linter-spell linter-ui-default linter-spell-latex. FĂŒr die anderen Sprachen gibt es entsprechendes, z.B. apt install linter-php
  • Schließlich wollen wir ‚Atom‘ auch nutzen, wenn wir mit dem Laptop auf der sonnigen Terrasse sitzen. Dabei hindert der Dark-Mode sehr. GlĂŒcklicherweise gibt es ein Package, mit dem man schnell mal zwischen Hell-und-Dunkel-Ansicht wechseln kann: apm install dark-mode. Den Toggle-Befehl findet man – wie ĂŒblich – unter Packages/dark mode.
  • FĂŒr unsere Markdown-AktivitĂ€ten brauchen wir fast nichts zu tun: Das Syntax-Highlighting lĂ€uft out-of-the-box. Und ĂŒber Packages/Markdown Preview können wir uns das nach html konvertierte Dokument direkt ansehen. Um es in eine PDF-Datei umzuwandeln, ohne in die Shell zu pandoc zu wechseln, brauchen wir ein Package: apm install markdown-pdf. Nach dem Neustart können wir das Package unter File/Settings/Packages#markdown-pdf konfigurieren und finden unter Packages/Markdown To PDF das Umwandlungskommando.


 und Anpassungen der Konfiguration:

Konfigurieren lĂ€sst sich ‚Atom‘ ĂŒber zwei Wege: Unter Edit/Preferences (Linux) bzw. File/Settings/ (Windows) können unter Core und Editor allgemeine Eigenschaften eingestellt werden. Unter Edit/Preferences/Packages (Linux) bzw. File/Settings/Packages (Windows) erreicht man die installierten Pakete und deren spezifische Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten.

Wir benötigen beide Methoden:

  • Zum ersten soll unser ‚Atom‘ ein Softwrap verwenden, also eine lange Textteile automatisch umbrechen, ohne die Zeile wirklich mit einen LF (Linux) bzw. CR LF (Windows) umzubrechen. Dazu aktivieren wir unter Edit/Preferences#Editor das Soft Wrap mittels eines Hakens. Dazu legen wir dann auch noch fest, dass der virtuelle Umbruch nicht am Fensterrand erfolgt, sondern an der maximalen Zeilenbreite Soft Wrap At Preferred Line Length
  • Dann soll unser ‚Atom‘ die Rechtschreibung in gemischtsprachigen Texten ĂŒberprĂŒfen können. Dazu konfigurieren wir das Package Edit/Preferences/Packages/spell-check entsprechend:
    • Wir aktivieren Use Locales per HĂ€kchen.
    • Und wir tragen in das Feld Locales en-US, de_DE ein.

Und damit haben wir, was wir wollten:

‚Atom‘ tritt als hackable text ediitor an. Das Netz weiß um seine besten Erweiterung. Man braucht sich nur inspirieren zu lassen. Die Methoden bleiben die, die wir hier angewendet und mit denen wir unsere Ziele erreicht haben:

FeatureStatus
1.)RechtschreibprĂŒfung fĂŒr gemischtsprachige Texte✓
2.)Kontextsensitive RechtschreibprĂŒfung in Programmiersprachen✓
3.)Syntax-Highlighting fĂŒr Latex, HTML PHP, C/C++, Java, bash✓
4.)Code-Completion fĂŒr Latex, HTML PHP, C/C++, Java, bash✓
5.)Integration in ein Laptop auch fĂŒr sonnige ArbeitsplĂ€tze✓
6.)Markdown-UnterstĂŒtzung✓

Ein letztes GestÀndnis

Ganz weglegen werde ich Eclipse nicht. Denn kein Tool bietet mit den Modulen XText und XTend einen besseren Support fĂŒr die Entwicklung domĂ€nenspezifischer Sprachen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

69 + = 76

Diese Site verwendet Cookies. (Details)

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklĂ€rst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen