myCrsf

mind your Classical Scholar Research Framework is a LaTeX / BibTeX / JabRef based collection of readily configured files for managing the whole process of writing a research paper in humanities – including searching and evaluating the secondary literature, maintaining the bibliographical data, generating abstracts and extracts and writing the final work. But all these steps shall follow the rules of the classical scholar research process and writing style.

Initially, I needed a little old-fashioned presentation style for writing some scientific psikeds documents. But while elaborating that framework, it get more an more it’s own life. So, at the end it was time to give the software it’s individual name, license and open Github repository.

Objectives

As a collection of prepared and readily configured files for managing the whole process of writing a research paper in humanities, myCsrf offers a complete set of BibTeX-, LaTeX- and Makefiles for

  • searching and evaluating secondary literature,
  • for maintaining the bibliographical data,
  • for generating abstracts and extracts and
  • for writing the final work.

The most prominent property of the myCsrf is its’ method for presenting citations in footnotes (or endnotes) following the rules of the classical scholar style as most as possible.

Examples in the package

For demonstrating the usage, myCsrf contains a self explaoining little text about the meaning of classical scholar research texts, in 4 versions:

Installation

Before having a successful download you need some “ingredients” …

After fulfilling the perequisites you can download myCsrf.

Then simply unpack the downloaded package: You may extract the package and rename the extracted directory wherever and however you want. For writing your own classical scholar research texts have a look at the myCsrf-README file which explains the usage and configuration of myCsrf.

Utilization

For getting a deeper insight into the utilization of myCsrf, simply read the mycsrf Readme file. (Type make README.pdf for recreating it in your local installation.) This is a first outline how to work with myCsrf:

  • For managing your secondary literature, use jabref and one of the prepared bibfiles:
    • mycsrfResourcesDe.bib should contain verified bibliographic data with German written BibTex annotes.
    • mycsrfResourcesEn.bib should contain verified bibliographic data with English written BibTex annotes.
    • mycsrfNextActions.bib should contain data which must still be verified by evaluating the work.
    • mycsrfSomedayMaybe.bib should contain those data which might become important late.
  • To configure jabref use its preferencedialog to upload btexmat/myScholarJabrefPrefs.xml into jabref.
  • For reviewing your gathered bibliographic data, let one of those review files be compiled which are offered under btexmat.
    • mycsrfBibRevResourcesDe.tex (mycsrfBibRevNextActionDe.tex) presents all entries of mycsrfResourcesDe.bib (mycsrfNextActions.bib) with German abbreviations.
    • mycsrfBibRevResourcesEn.tex (mycsrfBibRevNextActionEn.tex) presents all entries of mycsrfResourcesEn.bib with English abbrevitations.
  • For compiling any LaTeX-file ${NAME}.tex [except the include files following the pattern ${NAME}Inc.tex] as dvi or pdf file, open a bash, go to the directory containing the file and call make ${NAME}.dvi or make ${NAME}.pdf.
  • For deleting the LaTeX auxiliary-files, call make clean (resp. make dclean in the top directory).
  • For generating an extract / abstract copy templates/mycsrfExtractTplEn.tex into the extracts directory, rename the file (for example like the bibtexkey(.tex)), open Eclipse/Texlipse, Winefish, Texmaker or vi and start your summarizing work./li>
  • For generating a snippet, which can be included into your main research paper, go to directory snippets, copy and rename mycsrfSnippetInc.tex, open Eclipse/Texlipse, Winefish, Texmaker or vi and start your writing work. For reviewing your work, include it into your main research paper or into snippets/mycsrfSnippetFrame.tex and let that file be compiled
  • For having a main research file named according to your project, rename mycsrf.tex as you want.

License

All files of myCsrf are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Germany License: Feel free to share (to copy, distribute and transmit) or to remix (to adapt) it, if you respect how you must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author:

In an internet based reuse please link the reused parts to fodina.de/mycsrf and mention the original author Karsten Reincke in a suitable manner. In a paper-like reuse please insert a short hint to fodina.de/mycsrf and to the original author, Karsten Reincke, into your preface. For normal quotations please use the scientific standard to cite.

Diese Site verwendet Cookies. (Details)

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen

myCrsf

mind your Classical Scholar Research Framework ist eine LaTeX / BibTeX / JabRef basierte Sammlung von Dateien und Skripten, die den ganzen Prozess des Schreibens geisteswissenschaftlicher Texte unterstützen – einschließlich der Suche und Evaluation von Sekundärliteratur, der Pflege bibliographischer Daten, der Erzeugung von Exzerpten und der Erstellung der eigentlichen Arbeit. Und all dies soll den (alt-) philologischen Arbeits- und Darstellungsstil berücksichtigen.

Zunächst brauchte ich diesen leicht altmodischen Präsentationsstil für einige wissenschaftliche psikeds-Dokumente. Aber während seiner Genese gewann das ‚Framework‘ ein zunehmendes Eigenleben. So kam die Zeit, ihm einen eigenen Namen und eine Github-Repository zu spendieren.

Ziele

Als Sammlung von vorbereiteten und fertig konfigurierten Dateien, die den ganzen Prozess des Schreibens geistes­­wissen­schaftlicher Texte unterstützt, liefert myCsrf einen vollständigen Satz von BibTex-, LaTeX- und Makefiles zur

  • Suche und Evaluation von Sekundärliteratur,
  • Pflege bibliographischer Daten,
  • Erzeugung von ‚Abstracts‘ und Exzerpten
  • Erstellung der eigentlichen Arbeit.

Das herausragende Merkmal vom mykCsrf ist seine Art, Zitatbelege über Fuß- oder Endnoten zu präsentieren, die weitestgehend dem (alt-) philologischen Standard folgen.

Beispiele

myCrsf enthält zu Demonstrationszwecken einen Text über das Wie und Wozu (alt-) philologischer Forschungstexte, und zwar in 4 Ausformungen:

Installation

Die notwendige Voraussetzungen:

Die myCsrf-Download-Urls:

Packen Sie nach dem Herunterladen das Paket einfach da aus, wo es sie es abgelegt haben wollen. Der oberste Ordner kann beliebig umbenannt werden. Um mit dem Schreiben eigener Werke zu beginnen, lesen Sie einfach das myCsrf-Readme. Es erklärt die Nutzung und Konfiguration des Systems im Detail.

Anwendung

Einen tieferen Einblick in die Arbeit mit myCsrf liefert das mycsrf Readme file. Um es zu generieren, rufen Sie make readme.pdf im Projektordner examples/readme auf. Hier ein erster grober Eindruck:

  • Verwenden Sie jabref und die vorbereitete Datei bib/literature,bib zur Verwaltung Ihrer Sekundärliteratur.
  • Konfigurieren Sie jabref per Import einer vorbereiteten Konfigurationsdatei cfg/jabref.pref.xml über den jabref-Menue-Eintrag ‚preferences‘.
  • Lassen Sie sich Ihre eingegeben bibliographischen Daten anzeigen, indem Sie die Datei tools/litlist.tex kompilieren.
  • Generierem DVI oder PDF Versionen ihrer LaTeX-Dokumente über einfache make ${IHRDOC}.dvi oder make ${IHRDOC}.pdf Kommandos.
  • Entfernen Sie die dabei entstandenen Hilfsdateien per make clean .
  • Erzeugen Sie Exzerpte und Zusammenfassung, indem Sie die Datei extracts/extract.tex kopieren und umbenennen (am Besten entsprechend des Bibkeys des zu exzerpierenden Werkes) und sie per Eclipse/Texlipse, Winefish, Texmaker oder vi bearbeiten.
  • Unterteilen Sie Ihrr Hauptarbeit in inkludierbare Snippets, indem Sie die Datei snippets/inc.snippet.tex kopieren und umbenennen, per Eclipse/Texlipse, Winefish, Texmaker oder vi editieren, und das Snippet in Ihre Hauptdatei oder in die Datei snippets/frame.tex inkludieren, bevor Sie das jeweilige Rahmendokument kompilieren lassen.

Lizenz

Alle Dateien von myCsrf sind unter der Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Germany License lizenziert: Sie dürfen das Werk vervielfältigen, verbreiten und öffentlich zugänglich machen Abwandlungen und Bearbeitungen des Werkes bzw. Inhaltes anfertigen und das Werk kommerziell nutzen, sofern Sie den Namen des Autors/Rechteinhabers in der von ihm festgelegten Weise nennen:

In einer Internet basierten Wiederverwendung verlinken Sie die verwendeten Teile bitte auf fodina.de/mycsrf und erwähnen Sie den Originalautor in einer angemessenen Weise. In einer Papier basierten Wiederverwendung fügen Sie bitte einen kurzen Hinweis auf fodina.de/mycsrf und den Autor Karsten Reincke in Ihr Vorwort ein. Bei normalen Zitaten verwenden Sie bitte den wissenschaftlichen Standard.

Diese Site verwendet Cookies. (Details)

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen